Monroe-Grambling Links present seven young men of excellence

Trace Payne was crowned Mr. Beau 2015 at the Monroe-Grambling Chapter of the Links, Incorporated biennial beautillion, recently.  The theme for the beautillion was Creating a Healthy Legacy for Young Men of Excellence. 

Payne said, “It was a good experience. I met a lot of distinguished people, and I was shown how to be a better man and conduct myself in public.” 

Other beaux presented were Christopher K. Austin, DeMarious D. Combs, Enrico S. Hayes, Jeremy D. Jones, Undrico A. Roebuck Jr. and Keenan C. Washington.

There were three runners-up: first place, Roebuck; second place, Combs; and third place, Washington.

Those who came to see the young men presented enjoyed a variety of entertainment. They orated (Payne), sang solos (Roebuck and Jones), mimed (Combs), played instruments (Washington and Hayes) and recited creative expressions (Austin).

Willie S. M. Miller, a GSU student, entertained the audience with his dance presentation     set to Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come.”

Jordan Brown, a student at Alma J. Brown, entranced the crowd with his presentation of Dr. Benjamin Elijah May’s “God’s Minute.” Gibsland-Coleman student, Nathan Roebuck, thrilled the group with a drum solo that was reminiscent of the movie Drumline.

Dr. Gernerique T. Stewart, master of ceremonies, kept things flowing and the audience entertained with his bons mots. Live music was provided by the soulful group P.U.L.S.E.

Miller also assisted the beaux with the choreography for their grand promenade with their belles: Arnina L. Cage, Jansen Chisley, Alexis Felton, Quashayla Heard, Taryn A. Hill, Dava C. Johnson and Alianndra Williams. 

Before they were presented, the beaux attended a series of workshops sponsored by the Links. This year, the young men were given awards based on their attentiveness, attitude, and attendance.  

The award recipients are as follows: Most Cooperative Beaux, Roebuck and Washington; Leadership Award, Roebuck and Washington; and Best Presentations, Combs and Payne.

Laverne Conley, president of the chapter, said, “The beautillion is the culmination of several clinics and workshops that the young men participated in. They were mentored by civic leaders, educators, medical professionals and business leaders, to prepare them for their futures and instill them with confidence.”

Vicki Brown, Gertrude Roebuck and Sandra Theus  co-chaired the beautillion.

JOHN PRESTON/Courtesy photo
DeMarious Combs, Keenan Washington, Christopher Austin, Enrico Hayes, Trace Payne, Undrico Roebuck and Jeremy Jones were presented by the Monroe-Grambling Links, Inc.