The Gramblinite wins five first place LPA awards; 15 in all

The Gramblinite took home five first place awards from the Louisiana Press Association. 

The LPA announced the winners of the awards in early June. 

Altogether staff of The Gramblinite took home 15 awards in a commanding performance in 2020. 

Editor-in-chief Jasmine Franklin, former editorial assistant Lajazz Pichon and publication manger Wanda Peters were awarded first place for best layout and design. 

"It’s so amazing to see The Gramblinite advancing and contributing to the legacy of being an award-winning publication," Franklin said. "These awards confirm the prestigious work our newsroom produces. I cannot wait until the fall to return to The Gramblinite and create more content for the Grambling community and students."

The Gramblinite staff received two first place awards as a group for best photo package and best special section. 

For individual efforts, former editorial assistant Joshua Burley, received the Sam Hanna award for best regular column. The Gramblinite swept the category. 

Sports editor De’Vante Martin won first place for best sports column. 

“When I work I always try my best and look to improve with every piece I create. It is a great feeling to see my hard work pay off,” Martin said. 

The Gramblinite was beaten out by first place winner The Loyola Maroon and second place finisher The Lion’s Roar to land third place for general excellence in the college publication category. 

Other individual awards include the below: 

De’Vante Martin – 2nd place – Best regular column
Essence Lewis – 2nd place – Best news photo 
Allen Sandifer – 2nd place – Best feature photo
Kobe Jackson – 2nd place – Best headline 
Jasmine Franklin – 3rd place – Best front page 
Ayeisha Gipson – 3rd place – Best regular column 
Chelsea Williams – 3rd place – Best sports story 
Essence Lewis – 3rd place –  Best headline 
Joshua Burley – 3rd place –  Breaking news 

Those interested in joining The Gramblinite for the fall 2021 semester should contact produciton manager / lecturer Kyle Barnett at All newspaper participants are given the opportunity to compete for such awards.