Top Stories

Wilkerson among those to be honored by Chamber

Tickets and tables are still available for purchase for the 8th annual Greater Grambling Chamber of Commerce Community Contributions Banquet Thursday, October 15 at the Ruston Civic Center. 

Five area residents and two businesses will be honored at the event, which begins at 6 p.m. with a wine and cheese reception followed by the banquet at 7 p.m. Individual tickets are $30 and tables seating eight are $210.

“Contributions, the operative word in the title of this event, is what this is all about,” said Barbara McIntyre, chamber president. “We want to honor the contributions of people who have worked diligently to move our community forward and to get things done for the good of all.”

McIntyre said not only is the community work of the honorees significant, but also the awards are named for present and late citizens who have made meaningful contributions to the progress of the greater Grambling area.

“We have to make the connection between the Grambling community past and the Grambling community present to build on our future,” McIntyre said. “This community is bigger than the city of Grambling itself.”

The awards and the recipients are:

The late state Rep. Pinkie Wilkerson will receive posthumously the Calvin Wilkerson Overall Award, named for her father. 

The late Calvin A. Wilkerson was a local businessman who was also active in the business, social and political affairs of  

Cynthia Woodard

Cynthia Woodard

the community. He was elected to the Lincoln Parish School Board and appointed to the University of Louisiana Board of Trustees, among other achievements.

Industrial Insulation Group, LLC in Grambling will receive the A.D. Smith Business Award. 

A.D. Smith was a longtime Grambling businessman, Grambling university professor, city councilman and Grambling mayor pro tem who was active in many community and church activities.

Elmira McCarty will receive the Thelma Smith Williams Community Service Award.

Thelma Smith Williams is a retired professor and high school teacher who worked at Grambling State University and Grambling Laboratory High School. Many call her Grambling’s historian. She has written a book on the community and has an extensive collection of historical documents on the community and university.

Rosiland Russell

Rosiland Russell

Rosiland Russell will receive the R.W.E. Jones Education Award.

R.W.E Jones was the second president of GSU in the period of what many describe as the growth years. During his presidency, the school added new facilities, expanded the curriculum, including four-year bachelor degrees, and instituted more athletic and extracurricular programs.

Attorney Russell Woodard, Judge Cynthia Woodard and Super One # 617 in Ruston will receive the Special Recognition Award. This award is given to those who have made significant contributions to the community outside of the named category awards.

For ticket and other information, contact Cathy Douglas at 274-2200; Nettie Goree at 247-8442; or Barbara McIntyre at 243-1858.