SGA announce spring elections results


All week, spring election candidates have been campaigning to get students to vote for them and the results are finally in.

For the 2014-2015 school year, Erik Johnson won the ballot for SGA president, Ebony Wilson won the ballot for vice president and Ginia Smith won Miss Grambling State University. 

“I feel like I am truly blessed and what God has for me is for me. I faced a lot of adversity to get here and my hard work won’t go in vain, Says Erik Johnson, newly elected SGA president. 

Other winners include: Marcus Kennedy for graduate SGA president, Kimberly Monroe for graduate SGA vice president, Jarrell Miller for graduate SGA secretary, Ebony Peterson as parliamentarian, Florida Franklin for SGA secretary, Jasmine Holmes for election commissioner, Corey Howard for Senior class president and Samara Flowers for senior class vice president.

Campaigners had been giving out refreshments urging students to vote. Bags of chips, candies, cookies and various other snacks labeled with candidate names were given out. Student’s opinions as well as campus issues were all topics that campaigners were addressing with students throughout the week. Any GSU student could vote for candidates of their classification.

“It gives students who may not be as active on campus an opportunity to vote and make them aware of the candidates,” said Burgundy Hammond, who was running for vice president. “It gave me the opportunity to meet students that I didn’t know and connect with those that I already know.”

Along with elections the athletic fee referendum was passed. This fee affects all students at Grambling that is $100 fee for fall and spring sessions and $50 for summer sessions. This installment will help support the quality of operations within Grambling State’s Athletic Department.