Center for HBCU Media Advocacy Announces Nominees for Inaugural HBCU Awards

The Center for HBCU Media Advocacy announced the finalists for the 2011 HBCU Awards, to be held on Thursday, March 18 in Greensboro, N.C. Saint Augustine’s College, Bowie State University, Hampton University and Texas Southern University were among the institutions with multiple nominations.From the nominee list:
HBCU of the Year
Hampton University
Saint Augustine’s College
Jackson State University
Spelman College
Bowie State University
Grambling State University
Florida A&M University
Texas Southern University
Paul Quinn College

HBCU President of the Year
Dr. Dianne B. Suber, Saint Augustine’s College
Dr. Julianne Malveaux, Bennett College for Women
Dr. William Harvey, Hampton University
Michael Sorrell, Paul Quinn College
Dr. Allen Sessoms, University of the District of Columbia
Dr. Marvalene Hughes, Dillard University
Dr. James Ammons, Florida A&M University
Dr. Mary Sias, Kentucky State University

HBCU Student of the Year
Russell Simon, South Carolina State University
Bishop Walker, Johnson C. Smith University
Tatenda Mujeni, Bennett College for Women
Jazmine Miller and Jonecia Keels, Spelman College
Jacques Pape, Morehouse College

HBCU Faculty Member of the Year
Dr. George Acquaah, Bowie State University
Dr. Goldie Byrd, North Carolina A&T State University
Dr. Mirta Martin, Virginia State University
Dr. Kuldeep Rawat, Elizabeth City State University
Dr. Racquel L. Henry, Albany State University
Dr. Tommie “Tonea” Stewart, Alabama State University

HBCU Alumnus of the Year
Dr. Shayla Nunnaly, North Carolina Central University
Kamala Harris, Howard University
James McJamerson, Grambling State University
Janice Bryant Howroyd, North Carolina A&T State University
Dr. Charles Mosee, Saint Augustine’s College
Dr. Kase Lawal, Texas Southern University
Jacqueline Beauchamp, Southern University
Andrea Harris, Bennett College for Women

Best HBCU Athletic Program
South Carolina State University
Saint Augustine’s College
Talladega College
Xavier University of Louisiana
Shaw University
Bethune-Cookman University
Albany State University
Prairie View A&M University

Best Alumni
Tougaloo College
Florida A&M University
North Carolina A&T State University
Fort Valley State University
Hampton University
Spelman College
Jackson State University

Best Research Initiative
Tennessee State University – Discovery of New Exoplanet
South Carolina State University – Reduction of Insect Infestation in Food Supply
Fisk University – Strontium Iodide Crystal Refinement to Strengthen Bio-Hazardous Material Identification
Claflin University – Nuclear Waste Disposal
Hampton University – Proton Therapy Institute
Alabama A&M University – Nanotechnology in Building Maintenance
Texas Southern University – Campus Solar Demonstration Project
Prairie View A&M University – Slave Cemetery Mapping

Best Homecoming
North Carolina A&T State University
Morehouse College-Spelman College
Howard University
Tennessee State University
Jackson State University
Savannah State University
Bowie State University
Florida A&M University

Best Academic Programming
Howard University
Hampton University
Claflin University
Texas Southern University
Morgan State University
Bowie State University

Best Student Organization
Greer Dawson Wilson Student Leadership Program, Hampton University
Student Government Association, Delaware State University
Student Government Association, Grambling State University
Student Government Association, Jackson State University
Lionel H. Newsom Student Leadership Institute, Central State University

Best HBCU Student Publication
Gramblinite (Grambling State University)
Script (Hampton University)
Campus Echo (North Carolina Central University)
Famuan (Florida A&M University)
Belle Magazine (Bennett College for Women)
The Hornet Tribune (Alabama State University)

Best HBCU Alumni Publication
Inside Spelman (Spelman College)
Morgan Magazine (Morgan State University)
The Flame (University of the District of Columbia)

Best HBCU Choir
Livingstone College Gospel Choir
Fisk University Jubilee Singers
Morehouse College Glee Club
Tuskegee Golden Voices Choir
Morgan State University Choir
Kentucky State Gospel Choir

Best HBCU Marching Band
Florida A&M Marching 100
Bethune-Cookman Marching Wildcats
Winston-Salem State Red Sea of Sound
Tennessee State Aristocrat of Bands
Norfolk State Spartan Legion
Virginia State Trojan Explosion
Alcorn State Sounds of Dyn-o-Mite
Grambling State Tiger Marching Band

The HBCU Awards is presented by the Center, and serves as the organization’s primary fundraiser. It is the first awards ceremony of its kind celebrating student, alumni and institutional achievement among HBCUs.

Posted by HBCUDigest.com