Tickets available for annual Chamber banquet

Tickets are still available for the Greater Grambling Chamber of Commerce annual banquet, which will be held Friday in the Black & Gold Room of the Favrot Student Union.Nine individuals, a bank and two community groups will be honored at the event.

Tickets are $25, and tables of eight are $180.

The banquet begins at 7 p.m., and a wine and cheese reception is set for 6 p.m. in the atrium of the Black & Gold Room.

The event’s title sponsor is the Dr. Rhonda Pruitt of Tru Care Dental in Grambling. The theme is “Celebrating Community Contributions.”

“For the second year, we will acknowledge outstanding individuals, institutions, community groups and businesses in our community,” said Barbara McIntyre, president.

“This highlight of individual contributions is done not only in who we chose to honor, but also in the naming of the different categories of the awards.”

Awards to be presented are:

Lucy McIntosh will receive the Calvin A. Wilkerson Award for overall achievement. She retired from GSU as sociology professor emeritus in 1986, and she is a businesswoman who has been active with many community programs and institutions.

The late Calvin A. Wilkerson was a local businessman active in the social and political affairs of the community. He was elected to Lincoln Parish School Board and appointed to the University of Louisiana Board of Trustees among other honors.

Frances Staten will receive the Thelma Smith Williams Community Service Award. She is professor of anthropology and sociology at Grambling State University who has involved her students in many projects on social research, gerontology and genealogy in North Louisiana.

George Mack will receive the R.W.E. Jones Education Award. With 37 years, Mack has been the longest serving member of the Lincoln Parish School Board. His imprint on this community is felt through numerous community activities.

Community Trust Bank will receive the A.D. Smith Business Award. Community Trust has been an active participant in many community activities, including major contributions to the Eddie G. Robinson Museum.

In addition, the following will be recognized: Scott Boatwright, The Ruston Daily Leader; Joice M. Dunn and Wanda L. Peters of The Gramblinite; Joyce Evans, manager of KGRM; John Hays, Morning Paper; Glenn Lewis, GSU photographer; the Eddie Robinson Museum Commission; and Friends of the Eddie Robinson Museum.

For ticket and other information, contact Cathy Douglas, 274-2200; Nettie Goree, 247-8442; and Barbara McIntyre, 243-1858.

The late A.D. Smith was a local businessman and on the Grambling City Council where served as mayor-pro tem. He was also active in numerous church and community affairs.

The late R.W.E. Jones served as president of GSU for 41 years.

Thelma Smith Williams is a retired university professor and high school teacher who worked at GSU and the GSU Laboratory High School . As Grambling’s “unofficial historian,” she has written a book on the community and has an extensive collection of historical document on the community and university.