Nomination convention brings out candidates

Excitement filled Grambling Hall as nominations for class officers, campus queens and the Student Government Association executive board were made Wednesday at 5:30. All positions were open. The two-day process began with an interest meeting Tuesday and was finalized with Wednesday’s nomination convention.
Students hope this year’s SGA officials have the qualities voters seek.

The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools reaffirmation and reaccredidation process, along with an assessment of the Quality Enhancement Plan are just some of the issues that the 2010-2011 elected officials will have to attend to.
In order to be an official candidate, a student must not have a judicial record, fill out the proper paperwork and maintain the required grade-point average for that position.

After April 6, when nominees become official, candidates will still have to wait a week for campaigning to begin.
On April 12, the parade will kick off events, with an SGA debate scheduled for the following day. The debate will be held at 5 p.m. in the Black and Gold Room, and a showcase at 7 p.m. to present the hopefuls for campus queen titles.

Following the debate, online voting will be made available in Room 242 in Favrot Student Union and with GSU e-mail access.
Campaigns will hold a booster event in the Quad from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. April 14. Voting will end at 5 p.m. April 15, and results will be announced at 5:30 p.m.

Nominated students were:
Sophomore Class: Kedrick Smith and Jonathan Allen, president; Antonio Stuckey, vice president; Stephanie Norris, treasurer; Kendra Tall, Jackline Collins and Demetrius Spencer, secretary; Darrius Wheeler, senator; and Casey Wells, Robin Collis, and Jenita Manning, Miss Sophomore.

Junior Class: Fredrick Bess, president; Jacarion Bradford, vice president; Tirana Jones, treasurer; and Jamesia Leonard, Gabriel Smith, Ashley Gaylord, Miss Junior.

Senior Class: Jamarious Andrews and Jessieca Gafford, president; Frank Smith, vice president; Benjamin Gray, treasurer; Brittany Winn, secretary; Brittany Winn, Kofi Arhin and Nick Taylor, senator; and Alexandria Payne, Jasmine Crane and Cemia Khalek, Miss Senior.

SGA: LaMark Hughes, Cameron Butler and Dafnee Chatman, president; William Burge and Glynn Price, vice president; Arsenio Willborn, secretary; Kenneth Williams and Justin Navarre, treasurer; Elissa Edward, Megan Thomas, Fo’Julia O’Neal, Solange Sayers, Cauteaux Lee Vrakelos, and Desiree Cotton, for Miss GSU.

All nominees will not know if they are official candidates until April 6.
The SGA will attempt to fill positions with no nominees in the fall elections.