Latest Hall of Famers walk the red carpet at ceremony

The alumni were honored at the 19th Annual Alumni Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony in the Assembly Center last Friday. It was filled with Gramblinites and honored individuals for their dedication to the institution.

There was also a red carpet that allowed the honorees to take the stride of pride.

The GSU Hall of Fame was initiated in 1980, under the leadership of then president Dr. Joseph B. Johnson. It recognized outstanding alumni from 1980 through 1996. Now it honors alumni who have a made a significant contribution.

Dr. Horace A. Judson’s campaign of “Reclaiming Our Legacy and Claiming Our Place” was the central theme of the Hall of Fame.
The master of ceremonies was Christopher Moore, who was inducted into the University Hall of Fame in 2006.

The program continued with welcoming and introduction of honorees, greeting and occasion. The invocation was done by Rev. J. Lin Dawson.

The list of honorees were: College of Arts and Sciences – Col. Sheron R. Leonard, Sharon Garrett and Jeanne Rita Richard-Jones; the College of Business – Jan Hamlin; the College of Education – Matthew Guidry and Elvin Franklin Jr.; the College of Professional Studies – Caesar Andrews; and athletics honorees – Dr. Oatess Archery, Ezil Bibbs Jr., Al Dennis Sr., Al Dennis Jr. (posthumously), Howard Willis and Kim Young.

The former president and first lady later unveiled the 2008 Gallery of Distinction.

Honoree Richard-Jones, a native of New Roads, who graduated from Grambling in 1967, said, “There is a combination of pride and accomplishment and knowing that the term ‘it takes a village to raise a child’ has truly been shown through me and that I am able to give back to my community.”

Hamlin, a native of Ruston who graduated in 1975, said, “I am elated that the committee selected me and that I can stand here through the Grace of God able to give thanks to him and to others that they worked to help get me through my journey here at Grambling.