SGA elections complete

The Student Government Association began its 2009-2010 elections process last week, starting with an interest meeting in Grambling Hall Auditorium. Prospective individuals were provided a rundown of regulations that they were required to follow while running for their position.

Potential SGA members met again in Grambling Hall to attend the Nomination Convention. Some were nominated by friends, others nominated themselves.

Students of every classification could be nominated.

Three students sought the sophomore class president seat. : Eric Dangerfield, Dexter Harris and Jamesia Leonard.

Glynn Price, had no opposition in his pursuit of the vice president seat. Sophomore class treasurer, secretary and senators remain vacant.

Jessieca Gafford and Cauteaux Lee-Vrakelos, ran for junior class vice president. The position for Junior Class treasurer is still vacant.

Alexis Davis went for the secretary seat without opposition.

Alexandria Payne was the sole individual running for one of the three class senate positions.

Four freshmen sought the presidency: Jonathan Allen, Kymberli Miles-Lawson, Elizabeth Mobley and Kyndra Todd.
Tyana Casson, Graylon Benjamin and Antonio Stuckey rab for vice president.
Vying for secretary were Shakia Miller and Stephany Norris. With no opposition, David Harbor ran for treasurer. Dominic Shaw and Nicole Dorsey were running for senators.

Five young ladies were competing to be Miss Freshman: Wynter Bryant, D’Khosha Jackson, Treasure Lathan, Paris Porter, and Kashanta Scott.

The SGA Parade was held through the courtyard Monday.

“I enjoyed the parade, but it was so short,” said Kawana Lloyd, a freshman from New Orleans. “There were only a few participants in the parade.”

Following the parade was the SGA Questions and Answers Forum, held in the Black and Gold Room. There, members of the student body were able to ask candidates about their platforms and how they wanted to implement them.

“I would like to take more time to encourage our fellow Gramblinites to be more involved in campus activities and organizations while here matriculating,” said sophomore class president candidate Jamesia Leonard.

The Queen Showcase followed the Q&A forum. Everyone had an opportunity to view the 5 Miss Freshman 2009-2010 candidates.

Online voting began at 8 p.m., and was accessed through GSU e-mail accounts. Campaigns were open until 5 p.m. Wednesday. The results were announced in the Grambling Hall Auditorium, and are as follows:

Freshman Class President, Jonathan Allen; Vice President, Antonio Stuckey; Secretary, Shakia Miller; Treasurer, David Harbor; and Senators, Dominic Shaw and Nicole Dorsey. Wynter Bryant was announced as Miss Freshman 2009-2010.

“I am ecstatic that I am able to speak for my class and voice their opinions and concerns with the university,” said Wynter Bryant, Miss Freshman. “I would like to act as a communication bridge between the students and the administration, especially Financial Aid.”

In the sophomore class presidential race, there is a runoff between two students.

“Due to a tie between Jamesia Leonard and Eric Dangerfield, there will be a second online voting procedure that will last for only twenty four hours between 5 p.m. on Thursday evening,” said SGA adviser Dr. Stacey Duhon.

Glynn Price was announced as vice president.

In the Junior Class, Jessieca Gafford was announced as vice president. Alexis Davis as secretary. Alexandria Payne as senator.

Terry Young Jr. will be the representative for the Graduate class.

Freshman Class President Jonathan Allen said, “I feel great about winning. I hope to offer fresh leadership, fresh ideas, and a fresh start. The way you start is the way you finish. I would like to prove that.”

Junior Class Vice President Jessieca Gafford, said “I can not wait to assist the class president as well as to motivate my class members to get more active in the campus.”

Freshmen Class Officers:

President-Jonathan Allen

Vice President-Antonio Stuckey

Secretary- Shakia Miller

Treasurer-David Harbor

Senator- Dominic Shaw and Nicole Dorsey

Miss Freshman- Wynter Bryant