Student leaders selected to speak before Congress

Grambling State University Student Government Association President Christopher Harmon and Senior Class President Jared Evans have been chosen by the Thurgood Marshall College Fund to represent GSU at the National Civic Responsibility Conference in Washington, D.C. The TMCF Civic Responsibility Conference is a national program designed to introduce HBCU students interested in careers at the federal level or public service with the various government agencies. Participating students are introduced to the legislative process and the executive branch of government.

Only 100 highly selected students from across the country are chosen each year to participate in two days of workshops, focusing on the legislative process. Students are selected on the basis of academic excellence, community service, leadership capabilities, and a demonstrated interest in a career in public service.

Both Evans and Harmon are graduating seniors and will have the opportunity to attend legislative meetings with the congressional representatives from Louisiana, including Senators David Vitter and Mary Landrieu.

Throughout the conference, Evans and Harmon will be introduced to current public policy issues and the organizations and people who shape them.

In addition, the top students from each region will be chosen to testify before the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions. Members of this committee include Edward Kennedy of Massachusetts, Chris Dodd of Connecticut, Kay Hagan of North Carolina, and John McCain of Arizona.