Junior Beta Club inducts 2008-2009 candidates

Grambling Middle School inducted their 2008-2009 Junior Beta Club candidates on Wednesday, Oct. 22. The induction was held at 10 a.m. in the Grambling High School Gym. A “Harvest” was prepared for this fall event by the faculty and administrators. Candidates were challenged by each letter in the word “Harvest” (Honesty, Achievement, Respect, Vision, Enthusiasm, Sincerity, and Tolerance). After placing fruit into the cornucopia that represented each of these qualities, Ronnie Harrison, principal, presented the Harvest to student representative, Alexa Robinson.

The pledge was administered by special guest, the Robinson Elementary School’s Junior Beta Club. Words of encouragement from guest member, Joffre Hunter and the club led the singing of the National Beta Club’s song.

Middle school sponsor, Gwendolyn Douglas and principal Harrison led the new members in a candle lighting induction service. After lighting candles to represent Achievement, Character, and Leadership, Douglas and Harrison passed the torch, challenging the members to always lift high Achievement, Character, and Leadership.

Dr. Sean Warner, dean, gave remarks at the end of the program and encouraged the students to continue to carry the “Harvest” each day and make their parents, teachers and administrators proud.

As new members, we promise to help wherever we can. We will assist in our neighborhoods, school, and churches . . . because that’s what being a Jr. Beta member is all about.

Newly inducted members include Macie Andrews, Dwayna Durham, Dwayne Durham, Endiah Green, Jalen Ferguson, Paris Greene, Torrance Ford, Olivia Lawrence, Denisha Johnson, Diamond Parker, Brianna Ridgell, Minisha Johnson, Kyla Sanders, Lauralee Sylvan, LaDarius Lakey, DaVauhnte Turner, Lucas Lawrence, Alexis White, Trace Payne, Allen Williams, Janivy Robinson, Traykeivance Grider, Psnefra Wills, Reagan Higgins, Amber Williams, Breyonna Morgan, Alexa Robinson, and Brittany Rollins.