1968 GHS class holds 40th reunion

The Grambling High School Class of 1968 celebrated its 40th reunion during Grambling State University’s homecoming weekend. A group of 40 classmates, and many spouses, gathered from all over to participate in the festivities. From California, Nevada, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Texas and Louisiana, many classmates saw each other for the first time since graduation.

The celebration began on Friday afternoon when the group toured the facilities of their alma mater. The trip down memory lane evoked emotions for many as they recalled the sounds of the bells ringing, the clashing of lockers and students rushing through the corridors to get to their classes on time, while the principal and teachers stood in the hallways urging along those who might be tardy.

Donations were given to provide a scholarship for a future Grambling High School graduate who would become the first family member to attend college.

The weekend activities included registration and a reception Friday night at the First National Bank Community Hall. Saturday morning activities included decoration of an 18 wheeler float and participation in the GSU Homecoming parade along with the GHS marching band, attendance at the GSU homecoming game and dinner and a dance at Catherine’s Dance Studio in Grambling.

After a whirlwind weekend, some departed for home, while others participated in the Sunday morning worship service at Mt. Zion Baptist Church in Grambling. They presented a monetary gift earmarked for youth education to the church.

Thelma Williams, who served as one of the class sponsors and mentors, joined the group for worship.

It was a special weekend that resulted in many reconnecting and and vowing to keep in touch. The reunion planners were Rozetta Calloway Smith, Barbara Flournoy McIntyre, Lydia Davis Prudhomme, Nettie Goree, Mary Goree Gipson, LaVerne Standifer Junior, Rodgers Levinston, and Beattie Osborne Street.

A 45 year reunion is planned for 2013. The planning committee chairman is Gussie May and committee members are Goree and Street.