Harmon, Ross Win

On Friday evening, two candidates rose to the top and claimed their prizes. LaKesha Ross won the title of Miss Grambling State University and Chris Harmon was overwhelmingly elected Student Government Association president. Ross’s campaign slogan was “Be Your Own Boss,” which meant the students should have their own voice and decide for themselves, instead of doing something because someone else is. Ross ran a strong campaign, catching everyone’s attention during Election Week’s Monday parade with her entire campaign committee wearing bright green T-shirts.

“It was different yet interesting to see someone campaigning to try something new,” Jazmin Sinclair, GSU student said.

While campaigning for the title of Miss GSU, Ross had three opponents: ShaMya Floyd, Chea Hudgins and Regina Robinson. Though Ross won the title with 501 votes, Floyd came in second with 478. Hudgins was third with 356 votes, and Robinson came in fourth with 283 votes.

The announcing of the new SGA president came as a shock to several people. Some thought that Monroe native Chris Harmon did not stand a chance in becoming the leader of next year’s SGA.

Many assumed that because he was not as popular as his opponent or because he belonged to a fraternity that he knew little about Student Government or what changes needed to be made toward the university.

But little did they know, the underdog (no pun intended) would come out on top.

Harmon defeated Alonzo Blalock by 400 votes. The victor ran a good campaign with his slogan of “Unity.”

“There are hundreds of students that attend GSU from different backgrounds, with different points of view, who come from diverse walks of life,” Harmon said. That’s one reason we should be united.”

“For example, at the Calendar Girl pageant, the International Students were there to support the contestant from St. Lucia. They were united. Students from the New Orleans area come together for any and everything. They too are united. So why is it that students can’t become united to strive for a change?” Harmon added.

Other class officers are as follows: Steven Jackson ran unopposed for SGA Vice President and raked in 1,618 votes. Jennifer Wilson defeated Kindall Plains for SGA Secretary, 1,231 votes to 387 votes. The Senior Class President had no candidates. The Senior Class Vice President is Staci Hall, who ran unopposed.

The Senior Class Secretary is Lashonna Rose, who also ran unopposed. Miss Senior is Rachel Hickerson, who captured 413 votes. Airiea Williams came in second with 156 votes, while Shevlyn Mack came in third with 129 votes. Because there was a glitch in the system that caused the results to be delayed, the positions for the Junior class were announced on Monday at Grambling Hall.

Christopher Hughes was announced as Junior Class President, Tierra Walters as Vice President, and Amyra Chapman as Miss Junior. Because no one campaigned or sought for positions, the Sophomore class currently holds no positions.