UL System Presidential Search Committee named

BATON ROUGE – An advisory committee made up of faculty, staff and a student from the eight University of Louisiana System campuses will aid in the search for a new System president. Representing Grambling State on the committee is Dr. Rose Harris, head of the Political Science & Public Administraation Department.UL System Board and Search Committee Chair Elsie Burkhalter also appointed the following representatives to serve:

Dr. Ray Authement, president of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, who will serve as Advisory Committee chair; Dr. Ken Rea, vice president for Academic Affairs at Louisiana Tech University; Eddie Meche, vice president for Business Affairs at McNeese State University; Dr. John Doucet, a faculty member at Nicholls State University; Jerry Pierce, vice president for External Affairs at Northwestern State University; Katie Damratoski, a student at Southeastern Louisiana University; and Dr. John Sutherlin, a faculty member at the University of Louisiana at Monroe.

The advisory committee will aid in the recruitment of candidates and review of applications.

According to a tentative timeline, a new president could be selected by the end of June. Advertisements are currently running nationally with a May 2 application deadline.

The eight-member search committee chaired by Burkhalter will make the final recommendation to the full Board. The search committee includes Andre Coudrain as vice chair, Mildred Gallot of Grambling, Winfred Sibille, Wayne Parker, Victor Bussie, Jimmy Long Sr., and student board member Olinda Ricard.