Hall of Fame banquet set

The ballots are in and the selection committee at Grambling State University has selected the 2007 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees. Twelve men and women who are graduates of Grambling State University and have made an impact in their communities and profession will be honored Friday in a 6:30 p.m. ceremony in the Assembly Center as Homecoming weekend begins on the GSU campus. The 12 were nominated by their peers within their academic colleges and schools.

Within the College of Arts and Sciences, the 2007 honorees are Dr. Yvonne E. McIntosh of Tallahassee; state Rep. Richard “Rick” Gallot Jr. of Grambling; Otto O. Meyers III of Houston; and Richard Rayford, M.D., of Jackson, Miss.

The College of Business honorees are Virgil Robinson Jr. of New Orleans; the Rev. Dr. David Jefferson Sr. of Warren, N.J.; and Everson Walls of Dallas.

The College of Education honorees are Dr. David Wright of Grambling; Wilbert Ellis of Ruston; Mildred B. Gauthier Gallot of Grambling; and Dr. Lenton Malry of Albuquerque, N.M

In the College of Professional Studies, Ronald E. Childs of Chicago.is the sole nominee.

Christopher Moore, an alumnus from the College of Professional Studies who was inducted last year, will be the master of ceremony. Alumna Mary Griffin will perform musical selections, and the Grambling State University faculty jazz ensemble will play an array of music during the reception and dinner.

Grambling State alumni are recognized nationally and internationally as exceptional individuals performing or having performed, extraordinary feats within and beyond their areas of study and practice. These are the graduates that Grambling State University celebrates by bestowing them with the honor of induction in their “rightful place,” the Grambling State University Hall of Fame, Gallery of Distinction.

The Grambling State University Hall of Fame was started in 1980, under the administration of Dr. Joseph B. Johnson and became dormant in 1996. Restoring the Hall of Fame is consistent with President Horace Judson’s mission of “Reclaiming Our Legacy and Claiming Our Place.” The awardees from 1980 to 1996 are commemorated in the recently renovated home of university founder Charles P. Adams, who was the initial inductee. .

Those in the Gallery of Distinction, authorized by the current administration, hold a place of honor within the buildings of each of the academic colleges and schools. Photographs are represented by class graduation dates and induction years.

Call the Office of Advancement at (318) 274-2203 for banquet tickets. Semiformal attire is required.