Grambling selects 11 for Hall of Fame

“A university is often measured by the quality of the product it produces…its students. Grambling State University embraces this theory and salutes its graduates for their continued quest for excellence."

– President Horace Judson


The 16th annual Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony for the Gallery of Distinction will be held at 7 p.m. Friday in the Intramural Sports Center on the campus of Grambling State University.

The Grambling State University Hall of Fame was initially started in 1980 and has been dormant since 1996.

Restoring the Hall of Fame is consistent with President Horace Judson’s mission of “Reclaiming our Legacy and Claiming our Place”.

Grambling State University has graduated a multitude of alumni who are recognized locally, nationally and internationally as exceptional individuals performing or having performed, extraordinary feats within and beyond their areas of study and practice.

The common denominator for the diverse group of honorees is their love and support of Grambling State University. These are the individuals that Grambling State University celebrates by bestowing them with the honor of induction in their “rightful place”, the Grambling State University Hall of Fame, Gallery of Distinction.

The inductees for the 2006 Hall of Fame are Robert Bobb, Clarence Bradford, Dr. Joseph Carter, Dr. Penya Moses-Fields, Jeffrey Hall, Chris Moore, Thomas Moorehead, Dr. Ivory Nelson, Dr. Alvin Schexnider, James Thrower and Dr. Lynda Brown-Wright.

Performing for the Hall of Fame Banquet will be Grambling State University’s Faculty Jazz Ensemble, award winning country and western recording artist and alumna Miko Marks; along with national ly renowned gospel recording artist, Euclid Gray, who is featured in Tyler Perry’s Meet The Browns.

The university is also welcoming home Dr. E. Faye Williams. Among her many accomplishments are president of the National Congress of Black Women, former national alumni president, and Grambling State University Hall of Fame inductee.

Dr. Williams will play a vital role in the presentation of the Honorees for the 2006 Hall of Fame..

The university would like to acknowledge the corporate donors for their support of the Hall of Fame Banquet. They are Cleco, Hershey, State Farm, Northrop Grumman, Intel, Entergy, Lanier, John J. Guth Associates, and the H. E. Storer Foundation.