Election Saturday to pick mayor, council members

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. for Saturday’s primary election.Residents of Grambling must choose a mayor and City Council. Mayoral candidates are incumbent Martha Bennett Andrus, businessman Johnny Gray and former mayor John Williams.Candidates vying for the five seats on the Grambling City Council are Alvin Bradley, Toby Bryan, the Rev. Roosevelt Bryant Jr., Stephric Garrett, Edward R. Jones, Clarence Kennedy and Shawn Robinson.All are current Council members except Bryant and Garrett.District 2 candidates for the Lincoln Parish School Board are George M. Hamlin, Eddie Milton Jones and Flynn A. Ludley, who is the incumbent.Parishwide, voters must decide on two tax millage continuations. Both tax proposition deal with whether to continue a 10-year, 4.41 mills property tax that goes to construction and maintenance of roads and bridges throughout the parish. Statewide, voters must choose a secretary of state and an insurance commissioner.Candidates for secretary of state are Republican Mary Chehardy, Libertarian Rayburn Clipper, James "Jim" Crowley III (no party affiliation), Republican "Jay" Dardenne, Republican "Mike" Francis, Democrat Francis C. Heitmeier, and Republican Allen "Al" Leone.Seeking the insurance commissioner seat are Republicans James David Cain and James J. "Jim" Donelon and Libertarian S. B.A. Zaitoon. If no candidate receives 50 percent or more of the vote, there will be a runoff election on Nov. 7.Grambling racesMAYORMartha Woodard Andrus, No. 61 Johnny Gray, No. 62 John Williams Jr., No. 63CITY COUNCILAlvin Bradley, No. 84 Toby B. Bryan, No. 85 Roosevelt Bryant, Jr., No. 86 Stephric Garrett, No. 87Edward R. Jones, No. 88 Clarence Kennedy, No. 89 Shawn H. Robinson Sr., No. 90SCHOOL BOARD, Dist. 2George M. Hamlin, No. 51 Eddie Milton Jones, No. 52 Flynn A. Ludley, No. 53