Alpha Lambda Delta inducts 44 members

Grambling State University’s chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society recently inducted 44 members and two honorary members. Alpha Lambda Delta is an organization geared towards celebrating academic excellence among first-year students. Eligibility is based upon a 3.5 or better GPA after the first full semester of college. Newly inducted member Ashley Anderson, from Little Rock, Ark., said that she was invited to join this organization via a correspondence in the mail and was encouraged to join by her first-year experience teacher. "I got involved in this organization because I want to make the organization a better one by encouraging others to excel academically." Anderson said she enjoyed the induction. "The induction ceremony was very nice and formal. Although it was humorous at times, it was still a very dignified occasion," said Anderson. Anderson is majoring in chemistry and minoring in music performance. Eual A. Phillips Jr. said he heard about the society from his first-year experience professor. "Later, I received an invitation to join based on my successful first semester at Grambling State University. Phillips is majoring in chemistry and is from Bakersfield, Calif. GSU’s First-Year Experience director, Valenica Williams Clemons said the students inducted in Alpha Lambda Delta received numerous awards on Honors Day. She said, "These students, although they are freshmen, are ready for leadership positions. When it was time to elect officers, they were not hesitant about sharing their future plans and past accomplishments." The 2006 officers are Vernon Hardimon, president; Gerard Hills, vice-president; Geralyn Stephens, secretary; Stella-Marie Akindayomi, treasurer; Nnamdi Ekeh, historian; Eual Phillips, editor; Morgan Cenervert, senior advisor; and Khalilah Reed, junior advisor. Kourtney Sherman was selected as Miss Alpha Lambda Delta.

The 2006 Alpha Lambda Delta scholarship recipients are Rachel Hickerson, Kimlin Quan Chee, Brain Mosby, Eual Phillips, and Kourtney Sherman.


The newly inducted members are Stella-Marie Akindayomi, Luis E. Alonso, Ashley Adnerson, Chasity Baker, Ashon Bradford, Bryana Brooks, Quincy Brown, Preston Burnley, Nesby Cain, Jackeline Casanova, Brionne Cheatman, Tamaron Clay, Brittany Edwards, Nnamdi Ekeh, Shareena Fisher, Gabrielle Fleming, Katryna Flournoy, Jennifer Griffin, Vernon Hardimon, Nicole Harris, Rachel Hickerson, Gerard Hills, Jacquelyn Hoyle, Therese Hunter, Demetria Jaggers, Kentralyn Johnson, Patricia Johnson, Sabrina Johnson, Jenequa Jones, Donna Lewis, Talon Morgan, Brain Mosby, Tracy Owens, Eual Phillips, Kimlin Quan Chee, LaShonna Rose, Charmain Scott, Kourtney Sherman, Geralyn Stephens, Phylisha Taylor, Tamanesha Thomas, Candance Thompson, and Joia Vallery. Dr. Vladimir Alexander Appeaning, associate vice president of the Office of Academic Support and Special Programs and Clemons were inducted as honorary members. Clemons said, "The inductees are one of the best classes that has been recruited."